Board index » Foyer » English

Post subject: help me decide!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 1:30 pm

Greetings everyone, iam very new here, so firstly hello to all.

Iam in emotional turmoil at the moment, deciding whether or not i should sell my beloved hang drum. I bought the hang back in 2007 after a pilgrimage to switzerland, carried it all the way home in its double flight case with a broken wrist, i had to suffer a few weeks of one handed playing which just added to the anticipation! I love getting lost in playing it and have had some eye opening almost out of body meditative experiences with the instrument, experiences which invoke a strong attachment. The hang is quite a rare 8 note gudu hang with the octave step wooden insert.
For the last year and a half i havent found the time to play it, i have been a student for the last 5 years progressively building debt, alongside starting my own business. Recently i have had a few glimpses of thoughts towards selling it. I know it is a once in a lifetime opportunity to own one, and a blessing, i am sure selling it is a decision i would no doubt regret for the rest of my life. however iam very very broke and selling my hang offers a fairly instant remedy to my situation!

I suppose what iam looking for here is some inspiration to start playing again,this is difficult because i live in a very concrete city and i cant seem to relax as i can in the country. Or to satisfy the curiosity of the dark side where would be best to sell my drum? i have seen the crazy ebay auctions and would like to avoid that kind of scenario (however it is extremely tempting given my situation!).

not sure exactly what iam expecting from this, but any advice and wisdom is very welcome! :) thanks

will

Post subject: Re: help me decide!
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:42 pm

Hello Will, and welcome to the forum.