Board index » Foyer » English

Post subject: New Here!
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 5:09 pm

Hello Everyone,
My name is Steve Young, I am an artist (epicart .net) and webmaster (thenanoage .com & tryptamind .com). I feel that the Hang is the most beautiful and incredible instrument I have ever seen/heard. Since it is so difficult and expensive to buy a Hang, I am going to take a different route - and attempt to build a reproduction of the instrument myself!

Both science and art interest me very much, and the Hang has been aptly described as a fusion of both. It is both high-tech and archaic at once. I hope that some members of this forum will be able to help guide me in this quest. I will need your help to be successful.
Thank you,
Steve

Post subject: :?: Re: New Here!
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 5:16 pm

The first question I have for the members here is, which version of the Hang would you say is the 'best' overall for sound, etc.?
~Steve

Post subject: Re: New Here!
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 11:31 am

Which one?
The one that when you hear it, it speaks most powerfully to your heart...
:D

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 12:53 pm

EpicArt wrote:
Since it is so difficult and expensive to buy a Hang, I am going to take a different route - and attempt to build a reproduction of the instrument myself!

Hi EpicArt, welcome to the forum. Is this a spontaneous idea or have you thought your plan over at length? By what you have written I don't get it. As far as I can see there are two points that don't fit to your plan:

1) Without studying a real Hang in detail. It is impossible to build a reproduction of the Hang.
2) Building a reproduction of the Hang will be much more difficult and expensive than buying a Hang

So where lies the sense of your plan?