Board index » Archive 03/2009-10/2010 » Music, Video and Concerts » Other music and video stuff

Post subject: Embertide, or, the perfume of the Hang...
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:15 am

In one of my other lives, outside of these forums, I'm a sound artist. I work mostly with field recordings (recordings made out in the world, rather than the studio); typically I collect sound that interests me (for one reason or another) as I encounter it, and then work with it as a raw material in the studio later. Usually the work I do comes from the sound I find, rather than vice versa -- that is, I very rarely go looking for specific sound to make a work I already imagine.

I've been looking forward to sharing a work I made late last fall here, but it wasn't until this weekend that I finally posted it on my site:

http://quietamerican.org/commissions_et.html

The piece, Embertide, is something kind of different for me. It's based around a field recording, but instead of one made in public space about something I encountered by chance, it's based on the 18 or 20 hours of recordings I made of my wife in labor, when she gave birth to our daughter Ember last fall.

When I originally sought a Hang, one reason was the vision I had of playing it (and of my wife playing it) while my daughter was still in the womb; I imagined that she might become familiar with the sound and vibration, and hearing it again on the outside might help put her at peace, and ease her transition.

It didn't quite work out that way; I ended up getting my Hang second hand right around exactly the time my daughter was born, and only learning to play it in her very early months.

But the sound of it has infused her early development, and it's been a delight observing her learn bit by bit to "play" it and other instruments we have in our living room, such as a HAPI and, more recently, a Freenotes Wing I won on eBay. Her very first tool-use was using the HAPI's mallets to play it, something I also recorded.